First time user notes on Quick Start Guide, part 1

I’m just getting started with DoneJS, using these messages to capture my experiences with donejs - Quick start guide. Sorry if this seems “negative” and petty, but I think it important to capture the novice experience:

• I suspect the npm install -g donejs command should be run as root (assuming -g means global), and the subsequent commands run as a nonprivileged user, but that isn’t specified.

• Under Add it to the page, my index.stache file has the following line which isn’t shown in the guide’s model:
    <h1>{{message}}</h1>

• I made a typo in my editing of index.stache (entered “<can-import from-"bootstrap/less/bootstrap.less!" />”, note from- instead of from=) and even after correcting it, the web page still shows my typo. This happens even if I open a new browser session, so the typo is somehow “stuck” in the DoneJS mechanism. Restarting the donejs server did clear the problem.

• Again under Navigate between pages, the model doesn’t exactly match my src/home.component file, which contains these additional lines:

p { font-weight: bold; }
<p>{{message}}</p>
<script type="view-model">
import Map from 'can/map/';
import 'can/map/define/';
export default Map.extend({
define: {
value: 'This is the chat-home component'
}
}
});
</script>

• My src/app.js and src/index.stache also differ significantly from the models in this section of the guide. src/index.stache shows some but not all of the edits I made earlier under Add it to the page. Not knowing better, i left in my earlier edits to this file, see below for results.

• I attempted to reload my browser at port 8080 as instructed, but now confronted errors about bootstrap not being found. Discovered bootstrap was directly loaded under my ~/node_modules, so logged into ~/donejs-chat and reran npm install bootstrap --save from there, which fixed that problem. Apparently the user should install bootstrap from ~/donejs-chat rather than ~.

Then my browser said: